for Tenor Saxophone and Chamber Orchestra (2012)

Reflex (2012) is a single movement tour-de-force for tenor saxophone and chamber orchestra. Reflex attempts to blend both classical and jazz styles, while capturing the versatility of the tenor saxophone as a both an aggressively agile and wonderfully expressive instrument. Reflex was premiered on October 3, 2012 in Bates Recital Hall by the University of Texas New Music Ensemble, conducted by Dan Welcher, with soloist Charles Lee.

A small chamber arrangement of Reflex  for tenor saxophone, piano, bass, and percussion is also available, and can be heard here.

Performed on March 19th, 2013 in Austin, TX.
Charles Lee, Soloist
Charlie Magnone, Piano
Tejs Dragheim, Bass
Adam Reidelbach, Drums